Skip to content

Optimism and Opportunity

February 27, 2012

Many of my posts reflect my outlook to err on the upside of life’s circumstances.  I try to drown out my inner (and often powerful) pessimism by surrounding myself with positivity and optimism.  I find that this is a careful balance of being hopeful while remaining realistic.  Today, when I was taking a break from my coursework, or the slightly negative part of my day, I watched an encouraging Ted Talk that I think demonstrates hopeful realism.

Johan Rockstrom suggests that the earth is at a point where major transformation must occur.  He optimistically recommends that we use and continue to use crises as opportunities and local initiatives to transform and sustain life.  Also, he makes a realistic statement that climate change is not our biggest problem only a symptom of our land use.

I found this talk engaging and thought-provoking.  I agree that I transformation is soon to happen and I look forward to being a part of it.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 27, 2012 9:17 AM

    Totally agree a major transformative change is required. I doubt though the human race’s ability to undertake it though until it is too late!

  2. February 27, 2012 8:33 PM

    I love Ted! I use the talks to spur my students to think a little more deeply; to consider context.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 4,089 other followers

